Outline of the Fukuoka Prize


The Fukuoka Prize was established to honor outstanding achievements by individuals or groups/organizations in preserving and creating the unique and diverse cultures of Asia. The aim is to foster and increase awareness of the value of Asian cultures as well as to establish a framework within which Asians can learn from, and share with, each other.

Prize Categories

Individuals/groups are eligible candidates for all the prizes below.

Grand Prize

To be presented to individual/group who has made outstanding contributions to the preservation and creation of Asian culture and have exhibited the significance of Asian culture to the world through the internationality, universality, popularity and/or creativity of their work.

  • Prize money: 5,000,000 yen
  • *The Grand Prize will be selected by the Fukuoka Prize Jury from among all the candidates nominated for Academic Prize and Arts and Culture Prize.

Academic Prize

To be presented to individuals/groups that have made outstanding achievements in the field of Asian studies, contributing to the world's understanding of Asia. It covers the fields of social sciences, such as history, archaeology, cultural anthropology, economics, and political science.

  • Prize money: 3,000,000 yen

Arts and Culture Prize

To be presented to individuals/groups that have made outstanding contributions in the cultivation and/or advancement of the unique and diverse arts and culture of Asia. It covers the fields such as fine arts, literature, music, drama, dance, film, architecture, traditional and ethnic culture.

  • Prize money: 3,000,000 yen

Geographical Scope

East Asia, South Asia, and Southeast Asia

* The term "Asia" here implies areas including East Asia, South Asia, and Southeast Asia (any regions located to the east of Pakistan).

East Asia(8 countries, Special Administrative Region, district)
People's Republic of China, Japan, Republic of Korea, North Korea (Democratic People's Republic of Korea), Mongolia, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan
South Asia(11 countries)
Brunei Darussalam, Kingdom of Cambodia, Republic of Indonesia, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia、Union of Myanmar, Republic of the Philippines, Republic of Singapore, Kingdom of Thailand, Socialist Republic of Viet Nam, The Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste
Southeast Asia (7 countries)
People's Republic of Bangladesh, Kingdom of Bhutan, India, Republic of Maldives, Federal Democratic Republic of Nepa, Islamic Republic of Pakistan, Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

Nomination Procedure

In order to extensively recruit candidates, nominees are selected from approximately 7,000 experts in education/research institutes, arts and culture organizations, and news media from 54 countries mainly in Asian region and around the world.

Only few distinguished nominees are rigorously selected by Selection Committees and Fukuok Prize Jury consisting of academic members highly knowledgeable in Asian academic, arts and culture.

July - September (Biennial)
Applications for nominations are collected mainly in Japan and other parts of Asia.
Late January - Early February
Selection meetings for the Academic Prize and the Arts and Culture Prize are held to shortlist the most likely candidates.
Late March
The Fukuoka Prize Jury meeting is held to make a final informal decision on the prize winners upon consideration on their achievements and deliberation in a comprehensive manner.
Early June
The prize winners are officially acknowledged by the Prize Committee. A press conference in Fukuoka is held on the same day.