About Fukuoka Prize

  1. About Fukuoka Prize
  2. Outline of the Fukuoka Prize
  3. Prize Certificates and Medals
  4. Administration and Selection


The Fukuoka Prize was established to honor the eminent achievements of individuals, group or organizations who create as well as preserve the many distinct and diverse cultures in the Asian region. The Prize aims to foster and increase awareness of the value of Asian cultures, and to establish a foundation from which people of the Asia can learn and share with one another.

Prize Categories

There are following three selections of prizes and each prize will be awarded for an Individuals or groups every year. The total number of laureates is 3 and under every year.

Grand Prize

To be presented to individual/group who has made outstanding contributions to the preservation and creation of Asian culture and have exhibited the significance of Asian culture to the world through the internationality, universality, popularity and/or creativity of their work.

Prize money: 5,000,000 yen

*The Grand Prize will be selected by the Fukuoka Prize Jury from among all the candidates nominated for Academic Prize and Arts and Culture Prize.
*However, this shall not apply to the case of no appropriate candidates for the prize are found.

Academic Prize

To be presented to individuals/groups that have made outstanding achievements in the field of Asian studies, contributing to the world's understanding of Asia. It covers the fields of social sciences, such as history, archaeology, anthropology, economics, and political science.

Prize money: 3,000,000 yen

Arts and Culture Prize

To be presented to individuals/groups that have made outstanding contributions in the cultivation and advancement of the unique and diverse arts and culture of Asia. It covers the fields such as fine arts, literature, music, drama, dance, film (such as movies), architecture, traditional and ethnic culture.

Prize money: 3,000,000 yen

Geographical Scope

East Asia, South Asia, and Southeast Asia

East Asia(8 countries, Special Administrative Region, district)
People's Republic of China, Japan, Republic of Korea, North Korea (Democratic People's Republic of Korea), Mongolia, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan
Southeast Asia(11 countries)
Brunei Darussalam, Kingdom of Cambodia, Republic of Indonesia, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Union of Myanmar, Republic of the Philippines, Republic of Singapore, Kingdom of Thailand, Socialist Republic of Viet Nam, The Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste
South Asia(7 countries)
People's Republic of Bangladesh, Kingdom of Bhutan, India, Republic of Maldives, Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal, Islamic Republic of Pakistan, Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

Nomination Procedure

In order to extensively recruit candidates, they are selected based on the nominations received from the nominees in and outside Japan who belong to educational or research institutes, arts and culture organizations, and news media.

Only few distinguished laureates are rigorously considered and selected by two selection orginizations consisting of committee members highly knowledgeable in Asian academic, arts and culture.

July - September
Applications for nominations for the next years are collected.
※The nominations can be received all year around, however the nominations received by the end of September will be counted as the nominations for the next prize candidates.
Late January - Early February
Selection meetings for the Academic Prize and the Arts and Culture Prize are held.
Early March
The Fukuoka Prize Jury meeting is held.
→The prize winners are selected (informal decision)
Late May -Early June
The Fukuoka Prize Committee meeting is held.
→The prize winners are officially aknowledged. (official decision)
Mid September
The award ceremony and other related official events such as public lectures and school visits are held.
Return to top